Poughkeepsie WRC of Dutchess County

2015 Officers


Lori Ann

914.489.1534 LAPenci67@aol.com

1st Vice


845.797.9440 ErikaStav@yahoo.com

2nd Vice


 845.590.1402 AmyLHaight@gmail.com







click here for the club’s facebook page

Below please find all future meeting dates through December of 2016.  This list also appears in the meeting minutes of September 17, 2015.



12/14/15 (Christmas Party)

1/28/16  (WOY Dinner)



4/18/16 (Post NYS Call to Action Convention)






12/12/16 (Christmas Party)

Woman of the Year - 2016

Theresa M. Hoffman
Dutchess County Republican Committee Secretary
As our 2016 Woman of the Year Honoree, the Poughkeepsie Women’s Republican Club of Dutchess County proudly recognizes Theresa M. Hoffman for her immeasurable contributions to the Party and to the County of Dutchess.

Any woman believing in the principles of the Republican Party and interested in its objectives is eligible for membership in the Poughkeepsie Women’s Republican Club.

Our goals and objectives are:

Our Club’s Activities:

Sweatshirts with the PRWC logo on them are available to purchase by members for $25.00.




The club was visited by NYSFRW President Ann Schockett in 2015.  She is located in the center of the picture above surrounded by other club members.

 Vacancy in our Secretary Position

Mary Covucci has been our secretary since 2013 and we are very thankful to her for her hard work and dedication. The EBoard has received a resignation from Mary for her secretary position. The club needs someone to fill the position to the remainder of the current term; the end of 2015. This position shall be filled for the next term at the October meeting. Anyone interested in filling the seat for the remainder of 2015 should respond to pwrcofdc@gmail.com


Poughkeepsie Town Clerk Susan Miller Honored as Woman of the Year by the Poughkeepsie Women’s Republican Club of Dutchess County

The Poughkeepsie Women’s Republican Club of Dutchess County hosted their 45th Annual Woman of the Year and Installation Dinner on Thursday, January 26th, 2012 at the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel.

They honored Town of Poughkeepsie Clerk Susan Miller.  Officers installed were Amy Haight as 2nd Vice President, Wendy Hatch as Corresponding and Recording Secretary, and Beverly Scalzi as Treasurer.

The key note speaker for the event was Dutchess County Republican Elections Commissioner Erik Haight.


January 2011 Installation and Woman of the Year Meeting

 Marge Horton was honored as the 44th Woman of the Year at the Poughkeepsie Women’s Republican Club of Dutchess County’s annual Installation Dinner at the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel on January 27, 2011.  She said she didn’t understand why she had been chosen Woman of the Year — "I just couldn’t believe it," the Dutchess County legislator said. "I’m just doing my job."  Appointed to the Legislature in 2002, Horton represents District 21 in East Fishkill.  "We choose strong, Republican women role models and highlight their involvement in the community," said Sue Buley, installation dinner co-chair. "And, she is very involved in the community."  

 The evening featured stand-up comedienne Ellen Karis.  President Lydia Biskup and First Vice President Sue Salem were also installed.

The picture on the left was taken at The Women for Lazio Launch held at The 3 West Club in New York City on April 20, 2010.  Those pictured are from left to right members Susan Salem, 1st Vice President, Jackie Hughes, Wendy Hatch Recording/Corresponding Secretary, Rick Lazio, Theresa Sheehan, 2nd Vice President and Marge Sheehan.




January 2010 Installation and Woman of the Year Meeting

Pictured to the left are:  Joan Pagones  center front with corsage, dinner committee members Susan Salem, Lydia Biskup, Beverly Scalzi, Peg Tavarez, Terri Sheehan, Susan Buley-Baiano, Wendy Hatch & Linda Bauer (left to right), not pictured Karen Johnson & Gwen Brenner.

January 28,  2010, Members arrived early to help set up for the 5:30 pm cocktail hour.

Club president Lydia Biskup welcomed and thanked all for coming. Our Master of Ceremony was Sheriff “Butch” Anderson Recording/Corresponding Secretary Susan Wolfe-Hill was thanked for all her hard work in absentsia.

The Nominating Committee Chair Susan Buley-Baiano presented the slate of officers for 2010-2011 and they were sworn in by City of Poughkeepsie Mayor John Tkazyik as follows: Terri Sheehan 2nd Vice President, Beverly Scalzi Treasurer, & Wendy Hatch, Recording/Corresponding Secretary.

Sheriff Anderson  introdued our Keynote Speaker Joanne M. Mahoney Onondaga County Executive. Co-chairs Terri Sheehan & Peg Tavarez thanked her for being a part of our evening by presenting her with a gift.

Sheriff Anderson introduced the many dignitaries in attendance and presenters of citations to Joan Pagones.  Assemblyman Marcus Molinaro introduced our Woman of the Year Honoree Joan Pagones, Fishkill Town Supervisor. She was presented with a bracelet by president Lydia Biskup.  The meeting was ended by singing God Bless America.

Pictured to the right is Joanie Mahoney, Onondaga County Executive

Below are some pictures taken at the Horton House in October 2009 event.

Poughkeepsie Ladies at NYSFRW Conference


Women at the

NYSFRW Conference

in April 2009


Upcoming Club Events:

Currently no events listed.
©2008 New York State Federation of Republican Women